Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Ariens Deluxe 28 vs. Comparable machines

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
EugeneNL

Ariens Deluxe 28 vs. Comparable machines
Original Message   Jan 15, 2013 7:20 pm
Hey everyone, I live in Canada and I'm currently considering buying the Ariens Deluxe 28 for $1399. My other options in this price range are the Troy Built 277cc OHV 28" and the Briggs & Stratton 249cc 27", both from Canadian Tire. I see the Ariens models being compared to Honda's, is this fair? Does Ariens have a reputation of holding up well over 10-15 years? Is the Ice Drill chute a bit of a pain to use, my last 2 options have controls on the handles? Any info would be of some value, I have limited knowledge in this area.
This message was modified Jan 15, 2013 by EugeneNL
Replies: 1 - 10 of 10View as Outline
borat

Re: Ariens Deluxe 28 vs. Comparable machines
Reply #1   Jan 15, 2013 7:56 pm
Your timing isn't in your favour.  The Ariens machine you're looking at will be a good $300.00 or more cheaper in the spring.  Home Depot often clear out their seasonal stock for very good prices.  Particularly when compared to an Ariens dealer. 

Of the machines you've mentioned, Ariens for sure!
giocam

Reply #2   Jan 16, 2013 5:05 am
EugeneNL wrote: