Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Lube Control Cables?

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
jpmeyer

Lube Control Cables?
Original Message   Nov 30, 2011 2:39 pm
Hi!  I am new to 2-stage blowers having just taken delivery of a Husqvarna 14524E.  This model has a number of control cables for chute operation, "power steering" and the like.  The external portions of the braided wire seem to be quite free of any lube.   I presume that the portions inside the jackets are similarly dry.  That seems to me to be asking for corrosion.  Do the more experienced members of the forum recommend lubing these cables with anything in particular, or are there other factors (e.g., freezing up) that suggest leaving the cables dry and dealing with the corrosion when and if it happens?  Any other lubricating "best practices" that I should know about (other than engine oil)?

Thanks!

Jon

Replies: 1 - 8 of 8View as Outline
Dr_Woof

Don't blow into the wind, and don't eat yellow snow. WOOF!

Re: Lube Control Cables?
Reply #1   Nov 30, 2011 3:28 pm
My old JD has open cables, and I just put some light oil in the top where the cable enters the wound housing.  This seems to help, not so much to prevent rusting but when snow melts into them they will freeze up.  Another tip is to leave evrything in the "starting" mode so you can at least get it started.  My newer machine has rubber seals where the cables enter the housings, so not much to be done here.  I still give the exposed cable tops a shot of oil now and then but its doubtful if this is actuially helping anything because the oil probably does not penetrate down very far into the cable housing.

Dr_Woof

Reply #2   Nov 30, 2011 3:43 pm