Abby's Guide to Vacuum Cleaners
Username Password
Home Discussions Reviews More Guides

Vacuum Cleaners Discussions

Search For:
Sharquincy

D2 Seperator
Original Message   Jan 16, 2011 11:40 am
Newbie here, I have 2 Rainbow D2- 1st Purchased approx 1979-80   & # 2 purchased in an estate sale sbout 2 yrs ago ,  new with all attachements.

Problem- my original rainbow D2 - the seperator - about 1 yr ago I noticed a few of the teeth/fins  ( all in a row ) about 4-5 suddenly missing. So I took the seperator off # 2 & used it on orig Rainbow & with in a few weeks that one too was missing 5 fins/teeth.  Why is this happening?? What is causing it? What can I do  so when I purchase 2 more seperators it doesn't happen again.

Thanks for any help

This message was modified Jan 16, 2011 by Sharquincy
Replies: 1 - 3 of 3View as Outline
Venson

Re: D2 Seperator
Reply #1   Jan 16, 2011 12:31 pm
Sharquincy wrote:
Newbie here, I have 2 Rainbow D2- 1st Purchased approx 1979-80   & # 2 purchased in an estate sale sbout 2 yrs ago ,  new with all attachements.

Problem- my original rainbow D2 - the seperator - about 1 yr ago I noticed a few of the teeth/fins  ( all in a row ) about 4-5 suddenly missing. So I took the seperator off # 2 & used it on orig Rainbow & with in a few weeks that one too was missing 5 fins/teeth.  Why is this happening?? What is causing it? What can I do  so when I purchase 2 more seperators it doesn't happen again.

Thanks for any help

Hi Sarquincy,

Did the damage appear to have occured by way of inside or outside of the separator?  I've owned D2s but have never had this happen with their metal separators as due to design they don't allow a lot of room for error when mounting the motor unit onto the water pan.  (By the way are you using metal separators or plastic ones made to fit the D2 and D3?)