Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Snow thrower noob, Need advice please.

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
drifter

Snow thrower noob, Need advice please.
Original Message   Oct 13, 2010 12:06 pm
Hi Everyone, snowblower noob here.

First off, GREAT forum. :vg: I've spent the last few days researching here, and the amount and quality of information is superb.

I live in SouthWestern Quebec.(1 hour n/w of Montreal) Our annual snowfall averages around 7 feet. We rarely get storms that'll dump 1 foot of snow, but it does happen.

My driveway is roughly 135' long, double-width, and a "Y" that extends around the front of the house. Total sq. footage of paved surface is over 4000 sq.ft. My driveway has a sloped entry of approximately 15-20 degrees, and 50' long, and the mouth of the entrance is roughly 40' wide. That 40' mouth is a bear to shovel out after the friendly snow-plow dude buries me in.

About me, I'm 62, and just recovering from a back injury which has kept me off work for just over 4 months now. In the past, I've been shoveling the driveway with a snow-scraper. This year, I'm going to buy my first-ever snow-blower.

After reading through many threads here, I realize there are many Ariens fans here. Although I've looked at the Ariens machines in the past, I think I'm going to go with the heavy-duty Troy-Bilt 33" machine. I'm still flexible at this point, and I'm also considering the Ariens 30"/305cc machine, but I intend to purchase by next weekend. (Oct.17th) I'm interested in your comments and opinions.