Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Complete novice...what to buy?

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
dancurry

Complete novice...what to buy?
Original Message   Dec 20, 2008 1:57 pm
About to buy a two-stage snowblower. Fairly large driveway with large open space as it turns into bays. One-stage Ariens not cutting it. Might buy the Toro 826LE for about $1,299 but wondering if there's something better in that price range. Ariens? Another brand?
Replies: 15 - 24 of 27Next page of topicsPreviousNextNext page of topicsAllView as Outline

Re: Complete novice...what to buy?
Reply #15   Dec 23, 2008 8:42 pm
dancurry - I'm new to this forum as well and have found the insight provided by those that participate to be of great value.

I just bought an Ariens 1130 DLE. So its 11hp, with a few features I'm not sure I could do without. Firstly, it has a differential lock, which means it turns very easily. In fact my aunt, who is not particularly strong loves to use it and even does the neighbors driveways and sidewalks as a courtesy because she loves to use it.

Secondly, the chute is turned by a lever up on the handlebar, near all the other controls. Also, the chute flap, which directs the arch of the snow is also lever controlled. (Please note I may be calling these things by improper names). All of these features I have found to be incredibly useful and perhaps impossible to live without.