Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Complete novice...what to buy?

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
dancurry

Complete novice...what to buy?
Original Message   Dec 20, 2008 1:57 pm
About to buy a two-stage snowblower. Fairly large driveway with large open space as it turns into bays. One-stage Ariens not cutting it. Might buy the Toro 826LE for about $1,299 but wondering if there's something better in that price range. Ariens? Another brand?
Replies: 3 - 12 of 27Next page of topicsPreviousNextNext page of topicsAllView as Outline
DCPowered

Re: Complete novice...what to buy?
Reply #3   Dec 20, 2008 10:49 pm
If your looking for longevity in your snowblower I'd suggest staying away from blowers that use too many plastic parts  MTD does this a lot, also I personally prefer to have steel rods and no cables connecting the drive and auger handles to the snowblower,  cables tend to break on blowers that are used frequently.   As another personal preference I prefer a tecumseh engine over Briggs and Stratton because if your a do it yourselfer they are a lot easier to work on and get parts for.
mfduffy

Reply #4   Dec 21, 2008 12:27 pm
dancurry -- No opinion myself, but you should search other threads here regarding Tecumseh vs. Briggs. Tecumseh just went under - ceasing production 6 days ago. While there is general consensus that parts will not be an issue for a long, long time, you should have the whole picture before making a decision.
GaryBy

Reply #5   Dec 21, 2008 12:46 pm