Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Jammed Toro

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
Dee_M

Jammed Toro
Original Message   Nov 27, 2008 11:12 am
Hi all. I am very new to using things such as snow blowers, and so I have definitely never fixed one! (widow for 2 yrs after 35 yrs) Yesterday, while clearing the snow from the patio, it ate my dog's "rope toy". (A heavy rope with large knots at each end.) The rope is jammed in behind the blades (which scare the life out of me) behind a piece of metal, blocking the snow chute. Are these things easy to take apart, do I need to hire someone, or get a new SB? My son will look at it after he finishes work, but in the mean time I'm trapped in the driveway. I've been told to take out the shear pins (not sure what they are) and rotate the blades. Any suggestions? I've already considered moving to an apt.

This message was modified Nov 27, 2008 by Dee_M
Replies: 1 - 3 of 3View as Outline
oakville

Re: Jammed Toro
Reply #1   Nov 27, 2008 1:32 pm
if you don't know what a shear pin is, you're probably not comfortable taking this apart.  you can your son take a crack at removing the shear pin and rotating the rake to release the toy, but be extra careful as there could be some tension on the rope and releasing it could allow the rakes/impeller to rotate slightly.  you might be able to use tree pruners to cut the rope toy apart and remove it that way if you're in a hurry, but be careful.
pvrp

Reply #2   Nov 27, 2008 2:46 pm
I don't see the necessity of removing any pins.  The impeller (the part where the toy
is jammed) normally turns fairly easily, with some resistance from the brake pad that