Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Buying new mower help

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
Mainer

Live for Today tomorrow has not been promised to us.

Buying new mower help
Original Message   May 25, 2006 3:40 pm
 Hi to all.  I need some info to help me decide on a new mower. I'm a newbie to OPE  i moved to Maine 4 years ago from Boston and bought my first riding mower. A 10 year old White L12 that smokes to much to use now. I have 1700 Dollars to spend.  It would be of great help if someone could tell me the pros and cons of these options i have.                                                                                         

That are  #1 single or twin cylinder

#2 B/S Intek or kohler Engine

#3 Whats the difference between Hydrostatic drive and automatic drive.

#4 pedal or fender throttle

#5 pressure filtration or splash lube

Sorry for the long post. I know these questions must seem silly too most.     Any help would be great. Thanks John. D

I have 1 acre of land to mow that has a good slope to it. And i would also like to put a snow plow on this rider

Replies: 1 - 2 of 2View as Outline
AZinOH

Those who accept self-deception will perish by it.
Shakespeare said "to thine own self be true".

Re: Buying new mower help
Reply #1   May 26, 2006 2:58 pm
1. I have a general preference for 2 cylinders, but that's just me.

2. Recommend Briggs for 2 cylinder only. Single cylinder Briggs in recent years are susceptible to head gasket failures. Never owned a Kohler.

3. Can't say...never owned either.

4. No preference.

5. Pressure filtration if you can get it, but splash lube is okay.