Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Which single stage thrower - Toro CCR3650 or Ariens 722-938018?? Others?

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
livenlearn46

Which single stage thrower - Toro CCR3650 or Ariens 722-938018?? Others?
Original Message   Sep 5, 2005 10:39 am
Hi all,

This is my first post here. I live in the Chicagoland area. My driveway is 2 cars wide by 2 cars long but its sloped downward toward the street. So I like to use a single stage snowthrower to get the snow up all the way down to the pavement. I've been using a Jacobsen Sno-Burst for many years now and have been reasonably happy. But this year I'm ready to step up to a more powerful machine. I've been looking at the Toro CCR3650 and have recently noticed the Ariens 722. Then there is the 4 cycle Honda HS520, but thats a 5HP. Any comments on the Toro vs Ariens? or comments on the 2 cycle vs 4? Thanks.

-Mark

Replies: 1 - 7 of 7View as Outline
Majorxlr8n

Re: Which single stage thrower - Toro CCR3650 or Ariens 722-938018?? Others?
Reply #1   Sep 5, 2005 6:55 pm
Mark - The Toro's are fine units. Can't comment on the Ariens 722 - haven't used one, but the Ariens name is a fine one. The Honda is 5hp & 4 cycle, your old Jake is probably 3hp, so that is a difference in power. The 4 cycles usually have a quieter exhaust note & don't have a slightly smoky exhaust, but 4 cycles do require oil change intervals. Try to find an OPE shop where you can see one running if possible - this may help you decide.

HTH & Welcome!
Marty

Walt

Do what you can, with what you have, where you are. -T. Roosevelt

Reply #2   Sep 7, 2005 9:52 pm