Abby's Guide to Vacuum Cleaners
Username Password
Home Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Vacuum Cleaners > Product Reviews > Bissell Bissell Healthy Home Cyclonic Bagless Vacuum - 5770

Product Reviews for Bissell Healthy Home Cyclonic Bagless Vacuum

Search:
Bissell Healthy Home Cyclonic Bagless Vacuum
Model No: 5770
Manufacturer: Bissell

(Based on 2 reviews)
Avg. Price: $150
Reviews: 1 - 2 of 2   View as Outline
I didn't like this vaccuum
Jun 1, 2010 10:02 am
JurisLaris
Joined: Jun 1, 2010

I have two labrador retrievers and at the time I used this vacuum I also had a sand driveway. This machine convinced me to forget about bagless - way too messy with dogs that shed as much as mine do. Not to mention, one of the many latches on the bagless canister broke (on the bottom), so if I didn't lift the canister out very carefully, all of the dust, dirt and fur would land right back on the floor. It was also difficult to snap back in (I think that's why it broke in the first place). The house we lived in at the time was tiny (1000 sqft.?), and yet, I think I had to dump the canister out 2-3 times in a cleaning session. Now, if I didn't have two shed-prone dogs, this would probably be a fine machine. But it could not stand up to the task presented by my dogs.

Date Purchased: 04/06
Price Paid: $300
Recommend: No
Pros:
The color? Not much else...

Cons:
Very heavy, poor construction, canister broke early in ownership (making it easy for the contents of the canister to spill), after about 24 mos of ownership, it started to smoke and broke down.


This message was modified Jun 1, 2010 by JurisLaris
Bissell Healthy Home Cyclonic Bagless Vacuum
Mar 16, 2009 11:59 am
lazaruspup
Joined: Dec 11, 2008

OK, so you know how you see these online contests on blogs and such about free stuff. Well I entered one for once and actually won something. I received an email a couple days after entering telling me that I had won a vacuum cleaner and that it would be showing up soon. The only thing they asked was that I put a review up on their site upon receipt. Well on Friday a box showed up and inside was a Bissell Healthy Home Vacuum. I wasn't too jazzed about it at first because I've owned Bissell vacuums before and only had ok luck with them. I purchased one for my parents about 7 years ago and it works ok for daily pickups but its no workhorse. Speaking of workhorses, this thing is gigantic. I weight in excess of 30 pounds fully loaded and ready to go. I pitted it against my Hoover Platinum Bagged vacuum and against my Dyson DC07 Animal and it took the trophy quite handily. I pre-vacuumed with the Dyson first, then the Hoover, followed up by the Bissell. I vacuum daily as we have 3 dogs and its an older house that can get dusty. The bin filled itself twice with a little leftover for the third empty. Its considerably more quiet than the Hoover and about on par with the DC07. The parts are coated with Microban to cut back on smells and bacteria in the machine. Bissell also claims that their Airetight HEPA filtration system seals in 99.9% of particulate that comes through the machine(in essence making it a sealed upright akin to SEBO, etc). I am definitely sold on the value of this vacuum at the price it sells for, but its not for everyone. If you're looking for a decent bagless check it out. It uses a system very similar to the Dyson cyclone mechanism and claims 9 cyclone filtration. It does have the shroud and things DO get stuck in it just like a Dyson. I had to clean it last night after 3 days of vacuuming but if it will give me 5 years(the warranty) of service like this, I'll gladly clean the shroud. Hands down the best bargain(since it was free) that I've ever gotten in a vacuum.

Date Purchased: 03/13/2009
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Grooms and sucks like a charm; brushroll is very similar to a Hoover WT, albeit the brushes are a little smaller; manual height adjustment controls, brush shut off feature for barefloors, microban treated plastics for antibacterial-antimicrobial protection; easy to grip handle; easy to empty dustbin

Cons:
HEAVY HEAVY HEAVY!(you do not want to have to lug this thing up and downstairs); large size makes it inoperable in small environments(wouldn't be good for an apartment), huge wheels make transitions easy but get stuck under furniture, bed; dust bin shround clogs just like Dyson's


This message was modified Mar 16, 2009 by lazaruspup
Vacuum Cleaners Guide   •   Discussions  Reviews  
AbbysGuide.com   About Us   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy   Contact Us
Copyright 1998-2021 AbbysGuide.com. All rights reserved.
Site by Take 42