Abby's Guide to Vacuum Cleaners
Username Password
Home Discussions Reviews More Guides

Vacuum Cleaners Discussions

Search For:
Estam

Dyson DC17
Original Message   Dec 11, 2012 2:36 pm
Hi, Looking for some suggestions regarding our DC17 Vacuum Cleaner and have noticed it really hasn't worked well for years. A friend of ours was over and mentioned that the cyclone area where it hold the dirt doesn't rotate like it should. We took it to the work bench and checked the holes that go into the cyclone area and by shining a bright light and probing the access holes into this area can see that the top area is blocked with dirt. Is this area serviceable or do I have to Drill a large hole in the side to clean it. Extreemly poor design but then what do you expect from a brit :) Any suggestions please, is there a work around or does Dyson have a exchange or replacement policy. I will call them eventually but I'm not good at being given the a run around or the gears, tad too old for that. Many thanks for any assistance on what I should do.            ............Dave
Replies: 1 - 7 of 7View as Outline
procare

Re: Dyson DC17
Reply #1   Dec 11, 2012 6:10 pm
the area is servicable. Do not drill a large hole in the side. If you tear apart to clean wear a mask as germs are breeding in there. I was down sick a week my first time. I do that with all the bagless vacs. They are the filthiest machines in my opnion. Bagged vacuums are healthier.

Procare

Estam

Reply #2   Dec 12, 2012 11:05 am
Thanks Procare, I removed the cyclone part last night and investigated again and I see a screw through one of the holes that fasten it together but am unable to get a screw driver on it. There must be others but are unable to see them. Can you please direct me to a site that explains how to clean this top part. Many thanks and will definitely wear something to cover my mouth.
Estam

Reply #3   Dec 16, 2012 5:34 pm