Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Torn between Ariens 30's and Toro 1028OXE

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
mvedepo

Torn between Ariens 30's and Toro 1028OXE
Original Message   Oct 1, 2011 4:48 pm
Having a tough time deciding between the:
  • Ariens 30 Deluxe
  • Ariens 30 Platinum
  • Toro 1028OXE

I don't have a huge driveway but I am on the outside of a curve and get HAMMERED by the plow.  It's not uncommon to get a 30+" berm at the end of my driveway.   And being from southern WI it's rarely the light fluffy stuff.   The catch here is that I am a pilot so sometimes I am on the road when we get pounded (Murphy's Law).  This means that my wife (5' 105") wife needs to be able to maneuver the beast.  She doesn't need to do a ton of turning.  She will mostly be going down the drive and reversing back.   Throwing distance is also important to me.  

Here are my likes and dislikes:

• Ariens 30 Deluxe - I like: crank chute and price. 
  • Ariens 30 Platinum - I like: 342cc engine - Torn on the ATC and chute control
  • Toro 1028OXE - I like: Chute/deflector stick,  how light and maneuverable it is, the power triggers, 305 cc in a 28" unit.  I dislike: Some of the components feel flimsy.  Especially the triggers and Powerstick.
I am leaning towards the Platinum but no one, even at the dealers, can really explain the ATC to me.  When the drive isn't engaged and you pop open the diff do both wheels rotate freely?  If not is it the inner or outer wheel?  If the drive IS engaged will the ATC help or fight you if you are trying to do a 180 turn?  I have read conflicting reports on this. 

May also consider a Simplicity L1528E or L1730E but haven't actually seen these units.

What do you guys think??