Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Novice question

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
AJAriens

Novice question
Original Message   Oct 14, 2010 2:48 pm
I am not experienced with snow throwers...I recently purchased my first one...used Ariens ST1032...I have seen some topics on shear pins...and how they break from time to time..and how it is good to have

extras on hand...could someone help me out in telling me (or showing me in pcis) what a shear pin does exactly...and where it is / what it looks like on this model? How will I know when one has broken?

Thanks.

Replies: 1 - 4 of 4View as Outline
FrankMA

Re: Novice question
Reply #1   Oct 14, 2010 3:16 pm
A shear pin is just a semi soft bolt that is designed to break or "shear" off when placed under a given load. It is the bolt and nut that goes throught the auger shaft and auger assembly and sacrifices itself when an obstruction such as a rock or other foreign object enters into the bucket and could possible damage the augers. When a shear pin breaks, the auger will no longer rotate inside the bucket so only half the auger assembly will be working to transfer snow into the impeller and out of the chute.