Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > A rookie looking for advice on the big ones

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
djbutz

A rookie looking for advice on the big ones
Original Message   Jan 24, 2009 1:51 am
I've just stumbled on to this web site and think it's great!   I'm totally new to the snowblower world, but would like to jump into it. 

I  have a 650cc four wheeler that I put a plow on that does an awesome job on my 32 ft x 45 ft driveway and 250 ft of sidewalk,

because I have room to push it all, but now have been offered a side job clearing 24 drives in a condo complex, which are all

sloped, and the plow isn't  going to work well there because lack of places to push the snow. The guy who has done it for the

past few years has a front mounted blower on a walker riding mower.  I've doing some research and thought I was set on a

Ariens 1336, but after reading some of the things people have had to say about them I'm back to square one.  I'm hopeing

that you guys can give me some insite as to what would be a good purchace to get the job done in a timely fashion. I

usually keep any thing I buy forever, so I kind of believe in " you get what you pay for ", but since I'm new to the snowblower

world I'm not sure if that still applies 

Thanks for Your time and Knowledge- Dan

Replies: 5 - 12 of 12Next page of topicsPreviousAllView as Outline
awl51

Re: A rookie looking for advice on the big ones
Reply #5   Jan 25, 2009 6:17 am
I also would think about a mixed solution.

Sounds to me like there are 3 critical constraints for any equipment to contend with in this particular situation: grade, turning radius, and where to relocate the snow.