Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Need help selecting a snowblower

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
SteveinID

Need help selecting a snowblower
Original Message   Dec 26, 2008 7:53 pm
Hello to all! I'm VERY new to the usage of snowblowers. My whole experience is with the neighbor's 17 year old Ariens 824; I love that machine...
Anyway, I've done a lot of reading on this forum and others, and have narrowed my selection down to three machines, but would like some help making the final selection. First, here's what I'll be using it for:
I'll be using it on at least three driveways: 1. My own, which is lined with 1.5-2.5" river rock, and isn't too long. 2. My sister's, which is fairly steep and not too long. and 3. My aunt's, which is quite long (over 200') and is composed of very packed gravel. In addition, I regularly do the snow cleanup on the sidewalks and handicap ramps at my local church. Some winters we have a few wet snowfalls of a few inches each, and some winters we get dumped on with 2'+ per fall (like this one.) I also own an ATV with a snowplow on it, and my preferred method is to make a pile with the snow and then use the blower to move it to the middle of the lawn. I would also like to be able to use the blower on snow that's been packed somewhat by the city plows.