Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Just bought a used Ariens ST524, maintenance advice

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
jerm

Just bought a used Ariens ST524, maintenance advice
Original Message   Sep 18, 2007 7:13 am
Hi all!

I purchased a used Ariens 5hp 2 stage ST524 blower from a rummage sale for $100 this weekend. Starts right up on the first pull. It wasn't the first owner, guy said he thinks it's 10 years old. There's a little rust which I'll take care of when I strip and repaint it. Is there any preventative maintenance I should do now besides oil and spark plug? Any belts or pieces I should replace since it's pretty old? I've heard I should just get an extra shear bolt. I'm a total newbie when it comes to snowblowers (never even started one up till I was looking at this one) but am mechanically inclined so I'm pretty excited to tear this thing apart and a put it back together. I do have the owners manual, parts manual, and service manual in pdf format to read through also.

Thanks!

This message was modified Sep 18, 2007 by jerm
Replies: 1 - 4 of 4View as Outline
Moderator Denis

Re: Just bought a used Ariens ST524, maintenance advice
Reply #1   Sep 18, 2007 11:28 pm
jerm wrote:
Hi all!