Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > winter storage question

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
dsharp

winter storage question
Original Message   Dec 4, 2006 10:28 am
This is a goofy question but here goes.

When storing my Toro lawnmower for the winter, do you A) drain and replace the oil, B) drain the oil and replace with fresh oil in the spring or C) store it with the old oil and replace with fresh oil in the spring.

(I'm planning on following the recommendations including removal of spark plug and a squirt of oil into the cylinder.)

What do the pros say?

Thanks,

Replies: 1 - 6 of 6View as Outline
jubol

Re: winter storage question
Reply #1   Dec 4, 2006 1:53 pm
dsharp,

I'm not a pro, but I change my oil right after My last mow, engine is hot, drain out old oil.

Then I close drain valve,  flush with a little "Kero', spark plug wire pulled of, turn engine over about 20 times, then drain Kero, and put in new oil.

I almost forgot, I put Stabil and fresh fuel in my tractor fuel tank, before my last mow.

That makes sure the fuel in the carb has Stabil in it l!!

Fred

Husqvarna STE927(11.5HP) snowblower,  MTD Pro Series 18/42 Lawnmower, MTD 6.5 HP  Self Prop Lawn Mower,  Weedeater 1500 Blower, Web Gensis  2000 
dsharp

Reply #2   Dec 4, 2006 8:33 pm
Tnx. That sounds good. Unfortunately,  my neighbor used the mower last, so I'm not sure whether it has stabilizer in it. I'll have to put some more fuel in and run it dry. I need to do this before the snow begins flying.

BTW, what's kero?

David

oakville

Reply #3   Dec 4, 2006 9:13 pm
i would guess kerosene.  i wouldn't bother personally, but i know my machine gets the air filter cleaned regularly and the oil changed twice a year.
dsharp