Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Need snow blower info

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
Travis

Need snow blower info
Original Message   Sep 9, 2006 2:27 pm
I just moved to Minnesota after being in the warm, no snow southwest USA.  I am new to the whole snow thing, so I have some basic questions about what I should get as far as a snow blower goes.  I see single stage and dual stage throwers, but can't seem to find out what the difference is??  Also, if all I am clearing is my driveway, which is 20' wide by 35' long, just what kind of horse power am I going to need?  I do know the difference in 2 cycle and 4 cycle engines, but that is about it.  I'm trying to get a head start on the whole snow thing and want to have a blower in my garage ready to go when the first snow hits.  Any advice is appreciated!!

Travis

Replies: 1 - 6 of 6View as Outline
machXS1

Re: Need snow blower info
Reply #1   Sep 9, 2006 4:15 pm
Best Advice: Use the search function of this and other similar forums. You'll get loads of advice & opinion surely to keep you going round and round :). You may also want to ask your neighbors & even take a trip to that big box home store to browse their literature.

I bought a Toro CCR 3650 single stage last year for my driveway which is about the same dimensions as you state. I'm a little north of Chicago and last winter we got several 4"-6" snow falls with one 11 inch-er (this was a 3-4 year record snowfall for our area). The 3650 was able to handle it all, but in the 11" snowfall, I let the EOD pile ice overnight, so I had to do that by hand. Had I  gone out at night when it stopped falling, i would have been OK. You live & learn.