Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Probably a stupid question

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
philmeister

Probably a stupid question
Original Message   Jan 23, 2006 8:18 pm
I just bought a used snow blower, about 5 yrs old, 12 HP, 33" dual stage.  It’s a Murray.

I HAVE NEVER USED ONE BEFORE.

So, some stupid questions (I am sure):

When I start blowing snow it works fine, then after 15 minutes, it just stops blowing snow.  (Motor is fine).  Why does the auger just stop turning?  It doesn’t look too packed with snow, and I am going at a normal pace.  Anyways, this happened the other day so I put it away (it was dark) and started shoveling.  This weekend, it was nice outside, so I brought it out to try to diagnose the issue.  I started it up and the auger turned fine! So I put it away again.  Then tonight, I started blowing snow, and after 15 minutes it just stopped turning the auger again - with no visible signs of packed snow inside.

Is a belt starting to slip or something as it heats up? What drives the auger anyway - a clutch or a belt?  What the heck is a shear pin for?

Thanks!!

Phil

Replies: 1 - 3 of 3View as Outline
toolpig

Re: Probably a stupid question
Reply #1   Jan 24, 2006 5:08 am
So long as the engine is running while all this is happening and your augers and impeller fan are turning , it probably is either a worn drive belt or the idler pulley isn't putting enough tension on the belt to blow snow.