Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Is Kawasaki really that much better than Briggs & Stratton??

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
lawn_novice

Is Kawasaki really that much better than Briggs & Stratton??
Original Message   May 21, 2007 5:16 am
Hi guys and gals, newbie here. 

I have been reading this forum a bit (esp. this thread ) and wanted to try and get some advice. 

I have been in the market for a smaller, less expensive lawn tractor for a modest yard and have purchased a Husqvarna YTH2242T, which comes with a 22 HP Intek V-Twin Briggs and Stratton motor, from a local, family owned dealer.  Having very little knowledge of lawn tractors, I had done some research online and initially come to the conclusion that the YTH1542XP was what I wanted.  The problem is that when I went to the dealer, I discovered  this machine was $2199 retail and I was thinking more like 1900-2000.  The sales associate mentioned they had just received a 2242T, and this seemed like a nice compromise at "only" $1699.   After looking them over, I could see that they were basically identical except for the motor, gas tank capacity (4 gallons vs. 2.5) and 2007 vs. 2006 design (largely cosmetic). 

Now, I know that most people who don't have to work on small engines for a living (lol) absolutely LOVE the Kawasaki.  Even my neighbor, who bought a "Husky" not too long ago after owning a couple Craftsman machines asked "Did you get the Kawasaki?" before anything else.  The main reasoning I hear and read is that they are quiet and start up easy, but aren't all mowers noisy with the blades engaged??  I have to wonder, is a 15 HP Kawasaki really worth $500 more than a 22 HP B&S??