Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Product Reviews > Honda Honda mini Tiller - FG110

Product Reviews for Honda mini Tiller

Search:
Honda mini Tiller
Model No: FG110
Manufacturer: Honda

(Based on 8 reviews)
Avg. Price: $551
Reviews: 4 - 8 of 8   View as Outline   Previous   All
Honda FG 110 Rototiller
Sep 21, 2007 6:00 pm
Durgan
Joined:

Update 21 September 2007 Afternoon. Trying to get Warranty Service.

I decided to call Honda 1-800 946 6329 to correct the mis-information that was given by the Farm Service Depot; in that the engine lacked oil.

After explaining the issue, the lady informed me that I had to have proof of oil changes. I told her that I did the oil changes myself, but she was insistant that I had to have documents. I told her it wasn't an automobile and to give me her suprvisor. She put me on hold and came bck after few minutes and told me she would contact the dealer and would get back to me.

That is where the waranty issue remains for now.


Date Purchased: 4 April 2006
Price Paid: $654
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Recommendation subject to Honda honouring their Warranty.



This message was modified Oct 26, 2007 by Admin
Update regarding Warranty Service.
Sep 21, 2007 11:41 am
Durgan
Joined:

Update 21 September 2007 Honda FG110 Waranty Issue.

I visited the Service Depot today where the Honda FG110 was purchased and was talking to the lady who had called Honda. The Lady told me there was no oil in the unit, and this was passed on to Honda. The Honda Representative told her it probably wouldn’t be covered under Warrantee. She had just got off the phone when I visited.

I told the lady she had bad information. I had just changed the oil prior to taking it in for service. After discussing it for awhile the lady talked to the person, who had inspected the unit. Then it came out that there was plenty of oil but that it was grey in colour. I had noticed this gray colour, since I had run the unit for about 10 minutes after changing the oil (10W30, which I always used. What caused the new oil to change colour to grey, after only about 10 minutes of running?

Now the Service Manger is going to contact Honda again. Unfortunately, Honda now has the mis-information that the unit had no oil, and this obstacle will have to be overcome.

I am now awaiting the call from the Service Manager.

Date Purchased: 4 April 2006
Price Paid: $654
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Recommendation subject to Honda honouring their warranty.



This message was modified Oct 26, 2007 by Admin
FG110 Engine Failure
Sep 21, 2007 11:38 am
Durgan
Joined:

The effort for Warranty Replacement.

Honda FG110 Rototiller 19 September 2007

I purchased the FG110 Rototiller on 4 April 2006. It worked fine until three days ago. It has performed marvously over the last year. I took it to the Farm Service Depot where it was purchased and was informed today that the Engine is finished.This unit was serviced very carefully, over the last year. Oil changes and air filter were cleaned religiously. The transmission was greased on a regular basis.

I pointed out to the Service People that the Engine was warranteed for two years. The Service Depot did not volunteer this two year warrantee information, which suprised me. The information about the warrantee is in the Owners' Manual on Page 38.They told me they would contact Honda and let me know the decision. I will keep this forum informed regarding the outcome.

I truly love the little unit, and simply cannot garden without it. It has become my most useful garden tool. But I certainly expect it to last more than two seasons. I hope the problem was just an inherently faulty engine, and is not representative of the FG110.

Anyway the ball is now in Honda's side of the court.

Date Purchased: 4 April 2006
Price Paid: $654
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
My recommendation is contingent upon Honda honouring their warranty.



This message was modified Oct 26, 2007 by Admin
Honda FG110 in action.
Apr 5, 2007 7:43 am
Durgan
Joined:

My accolades regarding this cultivator. Copy and paste the URL into your browser address line.

http://xrl.us/u7s2
URL to the tiller in my vegetable garden. Honda FG 110 mini-tiller

http://20may2006.notlong.com/
Working compost into underlying soil.29 April 2006 Zone 5.

http://www.durgan.org/Blog/Durgan.html

This litle cultivator has to be the best piece of garden equipment that I ever purchased. I use it constantly and have reduced the garden labour by several orders of magnitude. Don't leave home without it.

Durgan.

The Small Roto-tillers. My Experience 2006

Small Cultivators Honda FG110G

The Small Roto-tillers. My Experience 2006

The Small Roto-tillers. Choice of a four stroke Honda is excellent NEVER a two stroke. They eventually becomes a hassle when starting, no mattter how careful one is with the gas and oil. I bought mine last year (Honda) and it has to be my most valuable tool in the garden. I use it like a shovel, hoe and rake combined. To plant trees, shrubs and to make a simple hole for some plant, for edging, and working established beds, and for breaking up chunks of earth it cannot be beat. The tine shaft runs about 180 RPM, which is much much faster than larger tillers. No rototiller made will break up sod sufficiently.

http://xrl.us/u7s2
URL to the tiller in my vegetable garden. Honda FG 110 mini-tiller

http://20may2006.notlong.com/
Working compost into underlying soil.29 April 2006 Zone 5.

The Honda FG110 was used to work reasonably good soil, clay with much compost with no rocks. The area worked was over 1000 square feet. This little tiller did a perfect job. If the tiller got clogged with fiberous plant strings, I simply removed the outer tines and cleared the obstruction within one of two minutes. The tiller engine startes with one or two pulls of the starting cord.

To plant onions I removed the outer two tines and pointed the remaining two inwards and got a perfect row for planting about 4 inches wide. I use the tiller by gently pulling backwards without the drag bar. All the work was done at full throttle as it should be with such a small engine. I consider the operation to be effortless, and the result on the soil is simply not achievable with hand tools.

The noise level is for all intents and purposes not noticable, since it is a four stroke engine. It is well built, and has no appearance of fragility or poor workmanship. I simply carry the tiller from place to place as required, or set it in the wheelbarrow.

To use this small tiller amongst large rocks is misuse in my opinion. I have no rocks. Used with common sense, and not attempting to work it in conditions where a larger machine is clearly required this little machine should last a long time.

To make a small bed I remove the sod with a kick sod cutter, spade the compacted earth to the proper depth, then put the tiller to work to condition the soil. On large chunks it jumps around a little, but that is to be expected. A larger machine simply kicks them out without beating them into small pieces. The result is near perfection. Do a google to find the full specs.

Worrying about turning a garden into flour like soil is probably little to worry about. I have spend my life trying to get the chunks small enough for a good garden. Usually I have had clay, but by adding city compost and composted wood chips the soil is friable.

Don't leave home without it.

Durgan.

Date Purchased: April 2006
Price Paid: $450
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Perfect for my purposes. Probably the best piece of garden equipment that I ever purchased. I have had it for about ayear and find it perfect.

Cons:
No cons come to mind.


This message was modified Apr 5, 2007 by Durgan
Preparing for garden
Mar 6, 2005 11:58 pm
walbroman
Joined:

I just bought this mini tiller from honda. Engine runs very quietly I'm surprise (4 stroke). I try a bit in the backyard but ground still frozen and this machine didn't stop!!!

Date Purchased: 03/2005
Price Paid: $410
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
The weight, the color the handle, gas container is large

Cons:
The wheels they look cheap but as long as they turn..


Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Guide   •   Discussions  Reviews  
AbbysGuide.com   About Us   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy   Contact Us
Copyright 1998-2014 AbbysGuide.com. All rights reserved.
Site by Take 42