Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > craftsman walk behind string weed trimmer

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
Vera

craftsman walk behind string weed trimmer
Original Message   May 2, 2015 9:51 am
I am new to this so please forgive any error. With that said my issue is this..... My craftsman push weed eater was the best thing I ever bought when I first got it. Would cut down just about anything without fail. Well I will admit I was rather hard on it, I have five acres with a pretty good ditch out front and without sharing too much unnecessary, and probably unwanted info. I will try to explain my problem. The two brackets that hold the string in place broke off, I thought rather too easily. I rigged up something that holds the string in place pretty well, and it seems to engage correctly it seems to me that it should work just fine, but since then the machine starts up just fine, runs just fine, but when going through anything thick, (even thick grass) the string rpm's doesn't seem to be able to handle it, even though they are spinning what I thought to be the appropriate amount of speed to handle the job? The spinning bogs down and I have to back out of the grass or whatever I am trying to cut down, and let the spinning restart and work its way back up fast enough to cut through the grass or brush or whatever it is struggling with cutting, where as when it was new, before the brackets broke it went through anything without fail. Is there a precision balance that the string when put in under the brackets the way it was meant to would obtain that if done like I have could have thrown off the balance and caused this inefficient problem that I can't seem to figure out now? Has anyone experienced anyth