Abby's Guide to Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more)
Username Password
Discussions Reviews More Guides
Abby’s Guide > Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) > Discussions > Craftsman 247.888530 Auger Not working

Outdoor Power Equipment (Lawn Mowers, Snow Blowers, Chain Saws and more) Discussions

Search For:
pepsundar

Craftsman 247.888530 Auger Not working
Original Message   Mar 17, 2007 10:13 am
I'm a newbie to this site.

The previous owner left a craftsman 9.0/28 electric/gas blower Model 247.888530 which looks new. No manual. I struggled a bit to start it as it was very cold, used the electric starter then. It ran fine for a day or two. the machine wasn't used for over a year - i filled the engine oil before I started using.

I was cleaning the driveway yesterday which has a layer of ice and snow on top of it, the auger was throwing both for a few seconds and suddenly the whole machine stopped running.

I tried starting the blower - it started fine, moves back and forth, steering is also fine. But when I engage the Auger, it knocks loud and stops the engine instantly. I tried a few times and I could smell a smoke from the auger - so stopped trying. Engine runs fine - when i press the auger lever, it stops instantly. Also the electric start is dead, so I have to pull start each time.

Please advice.

Thanks
Sundar.
Replies: 1 - 1 of 1View as Outline
nibbler

Re: Craftsman 247.888530 Auger Not working
Reply #1   Mar 17, 2007 1:10 pm
Sigh

First thing when you are a newbie on a site like this is to find the search feature and use it, this question has been asked several times in the last month and its getting a bit frustrating because you and other people haven't done your research.